Know Your Farmer

IMG_0303

Sick of going to the grocery store? Tired of eating tasteless produce from California or Mexico? Concerned that what you’re buying isn’t what it says it is? Dreaming of fresh, seasonal food that needs minimal cooking?

Meet your local farmer! Join a CSA, shop at a co-op, start a kitchen garden, volunteer at a community garden – or drive out to a farm! I’d sure trade you for some kale…

Now that spring has officially sprung, our supply of sweet, tender vegetables is ramping up. Last weekend, I went out into the field to collect my lunch, and here’s what I came back with:

Know Your Farmer

Arugula Flowers, Bolted Kale, Lemon Thyme, Rosemary, Sage, Senposai

DSC_0014

Red Russian Kale, Bordeaux Spinach, Redbor Kale

IMG_0302 For lunch that day, I snacked while I harvested. Nothing better than food plucked directly from the source.

In a few weeks, I’ll be able to include asparagus, snap & sugar peas, carrots, radishes, turnips, raab, and an even greater abundance of greens to the mix.

DSC_0018

After a long day’s harvest, I was ready for a heartier meal. I steamed up some of my kale, tossed it with chickpeas and millet I already had cooked, added a touch of salt and lemon juice, and piled it onto a baked sweet potato. A delicious, nutrient-dense meal that took less than ten minutes to prepare (thanks to bulk cooking at other times in the week).So what are you waiting for? I know you’ve gotta eat, so why waste an opportunity? Get your food from as close to the source as possible, say good-bye to the dreaded grocery store, and hello to some of the best produce you’ve ever tasted!

One thought on “Know Your Farmer

Leave a Reply

