Right Food, Right Action, Right Awareness

Join me on my journey to learn about food – how its produced, distributed, consumed; how to be a conscious consumer; how to eat “healthy” and more.

I’m headed to Shelter Island, NY for a 9-month farming apprenticeship. At Sylvester Manor, I’ll learn how to plant, weed, harvest, wash and distribute produce. I’ll help out with our CSA and farmer’s market stand. I’ll be involved in cultural outreach and educational programs related to regional, organic, seasonal & sustainable eating. And I’ll be singin’ my heart out through it all.

A long time lover of food, my journey really started last year when I worked as a cook on a small organic farm in northern California. After almost a year of my own personal transformation regarding what I eat and why, I’m ready to share my thoughts with whoever else is interested. Because ultimately, food is an issue that concerns everyone, everywhere – and it’s about a lot more than just getting your fill.

“The ultimate goal of farming is not the growing of crops, but the cultivation and perfection of human beings.”
― Masanobu Fukuoka, The One-Straw Revolution

2 thoughts on “Right Food, Right Action, Right Awareness

    • It was great to meet you both!! Glad you like my blog! Let me know if you try any recipes…
      See you soon around Sylvester Manor – the Johnston family is always welcome!

Leave a Reply

